Big East to approve two-division format

The Big East's presidents are expected to approve a two-division format Tuesday for the 2013 and 2014 seasons.

Sources told ESPN that for the purpose of football, the conference will be divided into a western division of Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State, SMU and Temple, and an eastern division of Central Florida, Cincinnati, UConn, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida.

All the schools were pretty clear cut as to belonging in the western or eastern division, except Temple, which, pending approval, will be placed in the western division.

Earlier reports called for the divisions to be called Red and Blue, instead being named geographically but that is now unclear, sources said.

These divisions will be used for the Big East only when it's a 12-team league in 2013 and 2014 because, sources said, they create clear identities for the divisions, preserve rivalries and create new ones, and minimize travel.

Conference and school officials also are expected to discuss how the league's schedule -- five games against division opponents and three crossover games -- might look in 2013 and 2014.

These divisions could change drastically when the Big East grows to 14 teams in 2015 when the league adds Navy and another school yet to be determined.

To read more, click here.