Johnny Manziel honored by the SEC

Johnny Manziel, or "Johnny Football," has added another honor to his collection.

The SEC named him the 2013 Roy F. Kramer Male Athlete of the Year by a vote of the league's athletic directors. Georgia swimmer Allison Schmitt was named the SEC Female Athlete of the Year.

Manziel became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy, Davey O’Brien Award and the Manning Award after leading the Aggies to an 11-2 record in his debut season.

He is the first freshman in FBS history, and the fifth player ever, to have 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a season. Manziel closed his first collegiate campaign as the FBS freshman record-holder for rushing yards by a quarterback (1,343) and for total yards in a season (5,116) and became just the second freshman in FBS history to rush for 1,000 yards and pass for 2,000 yards.

Other football players who were male nominees this year included Georgia defensive end Jarvis Jones and South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney.

Prior to Manziel, the last football player to win the award was Alabama's Mark Ingram in 2010.