Winston wins Heisman with ease

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won the Heisman Trophy by one of the widest margins in the history of the award.

Winston won with 668 first-place votes and 2,205 total points, easily outdistancing AJ McCarron of Alabama.

Saturday marked the 12th time in the past 13 seasons that a quarterback won the award -- a run started by another Seminoles quarterback, Chris Weinke, in 2000.

The history

At age 19, Winston became the youngest Heisman winner, two weeks younger than fellow 19-year-old Mark Ingram of Alabama, who won in 2009. The three youngest winners (Winston, Ingram and Johnny Manziel) have won the award within the past five years. Winston also joined Manziel as the only freshmen to win the award.

Read the rest of this post here.