The Season: The greatest in CFB history

One season can change everything. Just ask Johnny Manziel, who went from an unheralded recruit to a celebrity after one record-breaking trip through the SEC, or Cam Newton, who went on a legendary run at Auburn, winning the BCS national championship and Heisman Trophy in his only season on the Plains.

The season. That is what we set to find out. That one great season by an individual player that can be considered the best in the history of all 128 FBS schools. ESPN.com writers and editors, in consultation with sports information directors, settled on one player for each school.

From Manziel in 2012 to Newton in 2010 to Tim Tebow in 2007, the SEC has plenty of worthy contenders for the greatest individual season of all-time.

  • Derrick Thomas, Alabama, 1988: School-record 39 tackles for loss and 27 sacks

  • Cam Newton, Auburn, 2010: Accounted for 4,369 yards of offense and 51 TDs

  • Tim Tebow, Florida, 2007: Accounted for 4,181 yards of offense, SEC-record 55 TDs

  • Herschel Walker, Georgia, 1980: 1,616 rushing yards, 15 TDs

  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 2012: SEC-record 5,116 yards of offense, 47 TDs

Now it’s your turn to vote on who had the best individual season in college football history. Stay tuned throughout the week as we narrow it from 16 to one.

Also read:

A team-by-team look at the greatest individual seasons in the SEC

Ivan Maisel: Legendary seasons are not created equal