SEC's recent bowl domination no extra motivation for Longhorns

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. -- Southeastern Conference teams have claimed the last three national championships, stamping the conference as the best in the country.

Texas was the last non-SEC team to win a national championship, when the Longhorns stunned No. 1 USC in January 2006 at the Rose Bowl.

Since then, Florida (twice) and LSU have won titles to point national attention to the SEC as the best football conference.

But Texas offensive tackle Adam Ulatoski said that the recent run of success isn't intimidating the Longhorns.

"Our motivation isn't conference competition or anything else," Ulatoski said. "Our goal is the national championship."

The Longhorns will be fighting to overcome some recent struggles for the Big 12 against Southeastern Conference teams. Earlier losses in bowl play by Oklahoma State to Mississippi in the AT&T Cotton Bowl and by Texas A&M to Georgia in the AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl have dropped the Big 12's record against SEC teams in bowl games to 3-11 since 2003.