BYU, UCF agree to two-game series

BYU has agreed to a two-game series with UCF starting in 2011, allowing the Cougars to nearly complete their first schedule as an independent.

UCF will travel to Provo in 2011, and BYU will come to Orlando in 2014. BYU now has nine confirmed games on its 2011 schedule -- Texas, Utah State, Oregon State, San Jose State, Louisiana Tech, Hawaii, Idaho and New Mexico State. It is almost certain to retain its rivalry game with Utah, too.

There is a looming series with Notre Dame, but there have been no announcements for when those games will start.

As for UCF, the 2011 game against BYU replaces a previously scheduled trip to Texas. That has been moved to 2017. UCF also signed home-and-home series with Connecticut and South Carolina. UCF will face the Gamecocks in Orlando in 2013, with the return trip to Columbia, S.C., coming in 2015. South Carolina will become the first SEC opponent to ever travel to UCF.

The Knights will play at UConn in 2014, with the Huskies coming to Orlando in 2015.