June Jones, Dick Tomey to coach in inaugural Polynesian Bowl

June Jones will return to one of his old stomping grounds, this time to oversee some top high school talent in an all-star game.

Jones and former Arizona coach Dick Tomey were announced on Thursday as the head coaches of the inaugural Polynesian Bowl, which will feature 84 of the world's best senior football players of Polynesian heritage.

It was as Hawai'i's head coach that Jones made waves in college football. Leading the Warriors to a 12-1 record and a Sugar Bowl appearance in the 2006 season, Jones, who also coached at SMU, is the winningest coach in Hawai'i history. It was in 2006 that Jones oversaw the emergence of Colt Brennan, who holds the FBS record for most touchdowns responsible for in a season (63), a record Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson is pursuing (Jackson has 45 in nine games). Jones was 121-94 in his college career and 7-2 in bowl games.

Tomey, who also coached at Hawai'i and San Jose State, is the winningest coach in Arizona history. He had a 183-145-7 record and was 5-3 in bowl games. Tomey will lead "Team Stanley" and Jones will coach "Team Mariota," in honor of Baltimore Ravens offensive tackle Ronnie Stanley and Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota, respectively. Each team's coaching staff will include some of Hawai'i's top high school coaches.

The game will take place at 6 p.m. Hawai'i Standard Time on Jan. 21, 2017, and air on ESPN3.