Brian Kelly named Eddie Robinson COY

Brian Kelly took home his second coach of the year award of the season Thursday, this time winning the Eddie Robinson award, presented by the Football Writers Association of America.

Kelly is the fourth Notre Dame coach to win the award, following Charlie Weis (2005), Lou Holtz (1988) and Ara Parseghian (1964).

Last Wednesday, Kelly was named the Home Depot coach of the year, becoming the first coach to win that award two times. (He won it in 2009 at Cincinnati.) He is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Liberty Mutual coach of the year awards, in addition to being on the watch list for the Bear Bryant award.

Kelly will be presented the Eddie Robinson Trophy on Jan. 6 -- the night before the Irish's national title game matchup with Alabama -- during a reception at the media hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. Robinson's son, Eddie Jr., will be in attendance.