Non-AQs named to Lott Trophy watch list

Seven players from the nonautomatic qualifying schools have been named to the watch list for the Lott Trophy, an award that recognizes both on-field and off-field characteristics.

The Lott Trophy winner will be announced Dec. 12 in Newport Beach, Calif. The recipient receives $25,000 for his school's general scholarship fund, while three runners-up each receive $5,000 for their schools' scholarship funds.

Last season, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes became the first player from a nonautomatic qualifying school to win the award.

Here’s a look at the non-AQs honored:

2010 Lott Trophy Watch List

Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State, 5-11, 194, Compton, Ca.

Tejay Johnson, S, TCU, 6-1, 212, Garland, Tx.

Josh McNary, DE, Army, 6-1, 225, Houston

Wyatt Middleton, S, Navy, 6-2, 208, Norcross, Ga.

Dontay Moch, DE, Nevada, 6-1, 245, Chandler, Az.

Andrew Rich, S, BYU, 6-3, 223, Ogden, Utah

Anthony Wright, CB, Air Force, 5-10, 190, Cleveland