Ten non-AQs named to Groza watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Graham Watson
Arkansas State kicker Josh Arauco headlines a list of 10 players from the nonautomatic qualifying schools who were named to the Lou Groza Award watch list on Wednesday.

Arauco was a finalist for last year's award but was edged out by Florida State's Graham Gano.

Two players from the current non-AQ schools have won the award -- Tulane's Seth Marler (2001) and TCU's Michael Reeder (1995).

Utah's Louie Sakoda also was a finalist last season.

The Award will be presented on Dec. 10, 2009, as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards program. The three finalists will be honored at the 18th annual Lou Groza Award Banquet to be held at the Kravis Center in West Palm Beach, Florida on Dec. 8.


Josh Arauco, Arkansas State
James Aho, New Mexico
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State
Ross Evans, TCU
Clark Fangmeier, Rice
Sam Glusman, Troy
Kevin Goessling, Fresno State
Ben Hartman, East Carolina
Mike Salerno, Northern Illinois
Alex Steigerwald, Toledo