Seven non-AQ players on Outland watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Graham Watson
The Outland Trophy honored seven players from the nonautomatic qualifying schools on its watch list this week.

The Outland Trophy is award by the Football Writers Association of America annually to the nation's best interior linemen -- tackles, guards and centers -- on either side of the ball.

Since the award began in 1946, five players from the current nonautomatic qualifying schools have won -- Army's Joe Steffy (1947), Utah State's Merlin Olsen (1961), BYU's Jason Buck (1986), Air Force's Chad Hennings (1987) and BYU's Mohammed Elewonibi (1989).

The last non-AQ to appear as a finalist was Utah's Jordan Gross in 2002.

The Outland Trophy also will consider adding players to the watch list in early October.

The Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10.


Zane Beadles, Utah, OL
Nick Charles, Air Force, G
Chris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette, C
D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, DT
Mike Iupati, Idaho, OL
Torrell Troup, UCF, DT
Andre Neblett, Temple, NT