Pats Hall finalists: Clayborn, Law & Parcells

Two cornerbacks who are tied atop the New England Patriots' all-time list for career interceptions and the coach who helped revive the franchise and invigorate a region's passion for football are this year's finalists for the team's Hall of Fame.

The Patriots announced Wednesday that Raymond Clayborn, Ty Law and Bill Parcells have made the cut, as voted on by a panel of 20 members of the team's Hall of Fame committee.

One of the three will be inducted into the Hall later this year based on a month-long fan vote on the team's official website.

Clayborn was a three-time Pro Bowl (1983, 1985, 1986) player for the Patriots from 1977 through 1989. His 36 career interceptions tie with Law as the best mark in team history. This is the first time Clayborn has been named a finalist.

Law spent 10 seasons with the Patriots (1995-2004), was a three-time Super Bowl champion, four-time Pro Bowl player (1998, 2001, 2002, 2003) and a two-time All-Pro (1998, 2003) during his tenure with the club. This is his first year of eligibility for the Patriots Hall of Fame.

Parcells served as head coach from 1993-96, inheriting a team that had finished 14-50 in the previous four years, including an NFL worst 2-14 season in 1992. He led the team to the playoffs twice, including a trip to the Super Bowl. He was previously a finalist in 2011 and 2012, and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2013.

With just three finalists in a stocked field making the cut, some franchise greats such as safety Rodney Harrison and defensive end Willie McGinest will have to wait another year for consideration. Both Harrison and McGinest were in their second year of eligibility.