A history of the No. 12 pick

The New York Giants hold the No. 12 pick in the first round of the NFL draft, which takes place Thursday night. What kind of player can you get with the No. 12 pick? Well, here's a list of the last 25 players to be taken at that spot.

2013: CB D.J. Hayden, Oakland Raiders

2012: DT Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles

2011: QB Christian Ponder, Minnesota Vikings

2010: RB Ryan Mathews, San Diego Chargers

2009: RB Knowshon Moreno, Denver Broncos

2008: OT Ryan Clady, Denver Broncos

2007: RB Marshawn Lynch, Buffalo Bills

2006: DT Haloti Ngata, Baltimore Ravens

2005: OLB Shawne Merriman, San Diego Chargers

2004: LB Jonathan Vilma, New York Jets

2003: DT Jimmy Kennedy, St. Louis Rams

2002: DT Wendell Bryant, Arizona Cardinals

2001: DT Damione Lewis, St. Louis Rams

2000: DE Shaun Ellis, New York Jets

1999: QB Cade McNown, Chicago Bears

1998: LB Keith Brooking, Atlanta Falcons

1997: RB Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

1996: DE Regan Upshaw, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

1995: DT Warren Sapp, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

1994: CB Aaron Glenn, New York Jets

1993: DB Patrick Bates, Los Angeles Raiders

1992: DE Marco Coleman, Miami Dolphins

1991: WR Alvin Harper, Dallas Cowboys

1990: LB James Francis, Cincinnati Bengals

1989: DE Trace Armstrong, Chicago Bears

The Giants haven't had the No. 12 overall pick since 1964, when they drafted Oklahoma running back Joe Don Looney, whom they traded to the Baltimore Colts before that season even began. They used the No. 12 pick in the 1960 draft on Clemson tackle Lou Cordileone, whom they would eventually trade to the 49ers for Y.A. Tittle. And they had the No. 12 pick in 1958 and used it on Vanderbilt running back Phil King.