Iona's Jones wins Haggerty Award

Iona guard Lamont "Momo" Jones has won the 2013 Haggerty Award, given to the best Division I men's basketball player in the New York metropolitan area.

Jones, a 6-foot senior from Harlem, finished third in the country in scoring, averaging 22.6 points per game. He led the Gaels to their second consecutive NCAA tournament.

Stony Brook's Steve Pikiell was named Coach of the Year by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association, and St. John's freshman forward Jakarr Sampson was named Rookie of the Year.

The All-Met first team, besides Jones, includes St. John's guard D'Angelo Harrison, Seton Hall's Fuquan Edwin, Iona's Sean Armand and a pair of LIU Brooklyn players, Jamal Olasewere and Jason Brickman.

The second team features Sampson, Myles Mack (Rutgers), Tommy Brenton (Stony Brook), Rhamel Brown (Manhattan) and Ella Ellis (Army).

The third team features Chris Obekpa and Phil Greene from St. John's, plus C.J. Garner (LIU Brooklyn), Jameel Warney (Stony Brook), Jonathon Williams (Wagner) and Chris Flores (N.J.I.T.).