Highlights of Rangers' 2013-14 schedule

The Rangers will play in the newly formed Metropolitan Division in 2013-14 along with the Devils, Islanders, Flyers, Penguins, Hurricanes, Blue Jackets and Capitals. Instead of the usual six divisions, there are four: Metropolitan, Atlantic, Pacific and Central.

Some highlights from the Rangers' schedule, which was released Friday:

• The Rangers will open the season in Phoenix on Oct. 3. They'll start with nine straight road games, due to the third and final phase of renovations to Madison Square Garden. The Rangers have not had a nine-game road trip since the 1955-56 season.

• The home opener will be Oct. 28 against Montreal.

• The Rangers will face the Devils and Islanders on Jan. 26 and Jan. 29 at Yankee Stadium.

• The Rangers will face every team in their new division four times, but will face the Devils and Islanders five times apiece due to the outdoor games.

• The Rangers and Canucks basically swapped head coaches this offseason. John Tortorella makes his return to MSG on Nov. 30, while Alain Vigneault visits Vancouver on April 1.

Rick Nash makes his return to Columbus for the first time as an opposing player on Nov. 7.

• The Rangers' nine-game homestand (Dec. 7-23) is the longest in franchise history.

• The regular-season finale will be April 12 in Montreal.

Click here for the Rangers' full schedule.