Everton's Howard, five Red Bulls highlight NY impact on Gold Cup selections

Two local legends will join five members of the New York Red Bulls on the pitch for next month's CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.

On Monday, both the U.S. Men's National Team and the Canadian National Team announced their roster selections for the Gold Cup. The announcements arrive just two weeks before the tournament and follows the conclusion this past weekend of many prominent European leagues including the English Premier League.

Four players with ties to the greater New York area were selected by U.S. head coach Bob Bradley. North Brunswick, N.J. native and Everton goalkeeper Tim Howard was picked to likely serve as the national side's top netminder. Howard started all 38 games in net for Everton, logging a 1.18 GAA for the EPL side.

Howard will join Seton Hall alum and R.S.C. Anderlecht midfielder Sacha Kljestan. The former Big East Offensive Player of the Year netted two goals for the Belgian side and played regualrly during the 2010-11 season.

Three present Red Bulls also received their national team call-ups on Monday. Bradley selected defender Tim Ream along with phenom forward and Barnegat, N.J. native Juan Agudelo to play for the American side. The Red Bulls duo will join former American phenom prospect Freddy Adu in a move that surprised many soccer prognosticators.

Canadian head coach Stephen Hart followed through on his intentions of selecting Red Bulls midfielder Dwayne De Rosario to play for the Canucks.

The Red Bulls threesome will take the pitch in the June tournament against teammates Rafael Marquez (Mexico) and Dane Richards (Jamaica), both of whom learned of their national team selections last week.

Costa Rica and Cuba will open the Gold Cup tournament at Cowboys Stadium in Dallas at 6 p.m. on Sunday, June 5. Two days later, the U.S. and Canada will kick off against one another at Ford Field in Detroit on June 7 at 8 p.m.


U.S. Men's National Team Selections

GOALKEEPERS: Tim Howard (Everton, England), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Marcus Hahnemann (Wolves, England).

DEFENDERS: Oguchi Onyewu (Twente, Netherlands), Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne, France), Steve Cherundolo (Hanover, Germany), Eric Lichaj (Leeds, England), Clarence Goodson (Brondby, Denmark), Jonathan Bornstein (Tigres, Mexico), Jonathan Spector (West Ham, England), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

MIDFIELDERS: Michael Bradley (Aston Villa, England), Maurice Edu (Rangers, Scotland), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Freddy Adu (Rizespor, Turkey), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew), Benny Feilhaber (New England Revolution), Jermaine Jones (Blackburn, England), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht, Belgium)

FORWARDS: Clint Dempsey (Fulham, England), Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Jozy Altidore (Bursaspor, Turkey), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)