Who will be on the playoff roster?

Brian Cashman and his hierarchy will meet on Friday to decide on the 25-man playoff roster. Let's save them the trouble and give you the list here.

We would go with an 11-man pitching staff, leaving Ivan Nova and Freddy Garcia off and keeping Derek Lowe on. This is a big fall for Nova, who was the Yankees' No. 2 starter a year ago at this time.

Brett Gardner would make it as the reserve pinch-runner/defender, who could play in case of an emergency. Meanwhile, Yankee fans will love this, I think they will go with Andruw Jones over Chris Dickerson. Jones won't start, I don't think. Eduardo Nunez will be the righty DH. But Jones will give Girardi a righty pinch-hit option for Raul Ibanez late in games.

Position Players

1. Mark Teixeira, 1B

2. Robinson Cano, 2B

3. Alex Rodriguez, 3B

4. Derek Jeter, SS

5. Russell Martin, C

6. Nick Swisher, RF

7. Curtis Granderson, CF

8. Ichiro Suzuki, LF

9. Raul Ibanez, DH/OF

10. Chris Stewart, C

11. Eric Chavez, INF/DH

12. Eduardo Nunez, INF

13. Brett Gardner, OF

14. Andruw Jones, OF


15. CC Sabathia, P

16. Andy Pettitte, P

17. Hiroki Kuroda, P

18. Phil Hughes, P

19. Rafael Soriano, P

20. David Robertson, P

21. Joba Chamberlain, P

22. Boone Logan, P

23. David Phelps, P

24. Clay Rapada, P

25. Derek Lowe, P