Jeremy Maclin, Jon Dorenbos added to Pro Bowl

PHILADELPHIA -- The Philadelphia Eagles' already sizable Pro Bowl contingent grew by two players Friday night.

Wide receiver Jeremy Maclin and long snapper Jon Dorenbos were added to the Pro Bowl, giving the Eagles a total of nine representatives. That is one short of the team record of 10 Pro Bowlers, achieved after the 2002 and 2004 seasons. The Eagles played in the NFC championship game in both of those seasons.

It will be the first Pro Bowl for Maclin, who replaces injured Denver Broncos wide receiver Demaryius Thomas. Maclin, the Eagles’ first-round draft pick in 2009, caught 85 passes for 1,318 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Dorenbos went to the Pro Bowl after the 2009 season. He was selected as a need player by Dallas Cowboys coach Jason Garrett.

Running back LeSean McCoy dropped out of the Pro Bowl because of a knee injury. A total of eight Eagles are expected to participate in the game, scheduled for Jan. 25 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. Along with Maclin and Dorenbos, they are left tackle Jason Peters, left guard Evan Mathis, center Jason Kelce, linebacker Connor Barwin, return man Darren Sproles and kicker Cody Parkey.

Parkey is expected to be added officially after this weekend’s conference championship games. New England’s Stephen Gostkowski and Indianapolis’ Adam Vinatieri will play in the AFC title game. The winner will go to the Super Bowl and will drop out of the Pro Bowl.