The Bears' run of (QB) shame is over

Posted by ESPN.com's Kevin Seifert
Just how quarterback-starved have the Chicago Bears been in their history?

That's one of the first questions I had after learning the Bears had acquired quarterback Jay Cutler from Denver on Thursday.

Cutler played in the Pro Bowl earlier this year, a feat only one Bears quarterback has achieved in the past 46 years. That's right, other than Jim McMahon's appearance in the game following the 1985 season, you have to go all the way back to Bill Wade in 1963 to find a Bears quarterback on a Pro Bowl roster. Overall, the Bears have placed four different quarterbacks in the Pro Bowl four times since 1951.

Here's the full list:

1985: Jim McMahon
1963: Bill Wade
1956: Ed Brown
1955: Ed Brown
1952: Johnny Lujack
1951: Johnny Lujack

Since McMahon's final season as the Bears' primary starter in 1988, the Bears have had a revolving door of quarterbacks. All told, 13 different players have finished as the team's leading passer over the ensuing 20 seasons. With the Cutler trade, it's a fairly safe assumption that the ignominious run -- which started with Mike Tomczak and ended with Kyle Orton -- has ended.

I'll keep filling the blog until about 7:30 p.m. ET, when Bears general manager Jerry Angelo will hold a teleconference. I'll jump back on shortly thereafter.