PFWA awards for Brees, Finney

We’ve got two NFC South winners among this year’s Pro Football Writers of America Awards.

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees won the Good Guy Award for the player who is most helpful to the media.

"I am honored to be recognized by the Professional Football Writers with their annual Good Guy Award," Brees said. “The media is our strongest connection to our fans and it is important that we make ourselves available and be accountable when the time calls for us to meet with the media. The media tell our story and I recognize the important job that they have. Joining a select group of previous winners such as Kurt Warner, Brett Favre, LaDainian Tomlinson, Tiki Barber and Jerome Bettis shows that it is not only important to lead on the field like these guys have, but also to lead off of it as well.”

The other winner also is from New Orleans. Peter Finney has won the McCann Award, for long and distinguished service to the media. Finney is a long-time columnist for the New Orleans Times-Picayune and one of the finest gentlemen in the business.

Finney has been covering sports in the New Orleans area for 64 years. He covered 40 straight Super Bowls after missing the first two because his editor at the time thought the game was “just a fad."

Finney also represents the New Orleans market on the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s board of selectors and was responsible for successfully presenting Rickey Jackson’s case for election. Jackson will be inducted in August.