Brees gets offensive player of the year

Posted by ESPN.com's Pat Yasinskas

Drew Brees didn't get the NFL Most Valuable Player award that went to Peyton Manning last week. But the New Orleans quarterback earned The Associated Press Offensive Player of the Year award Tuesday.

Brees, who became only the second player in history to pass for 5,000 yards, received 22 votes. Manning and Minnesota's Adrian Peterson tied for second with nine votes each.

The rest of the NFC South also got some attention. Carolina running back DeAngelo Williams got two votes. Atlanta running back Michael Turner and Carolina receiver Steve Smith each received one vote.