Tampa Bay rookies make some history

The most interesting statistic of the weekend comes to us from Tampa Bay’s media relations department.

In Sunday’s victory against Carolina, the Buccaneers became the first team since Dallas on Nov. 24, 2002 to start seven rookies and win. Receivers Mike Williams and Arrelious Benn, defensive tackle Gerald McCoy, safety Cody Grimm, guard Ted Larsen, fullback Erik Lorig and linebacker Dekoda Watson all started.

Five other rookies -- running back LeGarrette Blount, tackle Derek Hardman, punter Robert Malone, receiver Preston Parker and defensive tackle Al Woods -- also got playing time Sunday.