Update on NFC South all-decade team

Posted by ESPN.com's Pat Yasinskas

I've been plowing through your ballots for the NFC South all-decade team since returning to work Monday. I had hoped to give you the end results this week.

But I haven't been able to get through all the ballots. I hope to finish that process this weekend and unveil the team next week. It's not too late to vote, but please don't do so if you've already submitted a ballot.

I can share a few things with you from what I've seen so far. Some guys are winning in landslides and their names won't surprise you: Steve Smith, Mike Alstott, Julius Peppers, Warren Sapp, Kris Jenkins, Derrick Brooks, John Lynch and Ronde Barber. It looks pretty certain they'll be on the team.

The closest battle right now is at quarterback, where there actually are three candidates receiving strong support. I anticipated a close contest between Drew Brees and Jake Delhomme, but Brad Johnson is right their with them. Johnson's the only NFC South quarterback to win a Super Bowl and that's getting him a lot of votes. Brees and Delhomme are virtually tied in the results I've been through so far.

I can see the argument for each of them. Brees has been spectacular in his three years with the Saints. But Delhomme has been starting for the Panthers since 2003 and has won a lot of games for Carolina and taken the franchise to a Super Bowl.