Time to vote for Pro Bowl

Pro Bowl balloting has begun.

Since we often talk about how the NFC South sometimes gets overshadowed by teams in bigger markets, let me urge you to go vote. This is your chance to make a difference.

I won’t tell you who to vote for. That’s up to you. But I will point out a few items I noticed as I scanned the ballot.

New Orleans’ Darren Sproles isn’t on there as a running back (he is on there as a kick returner). Neither is Mark Ingram, but Pierre Thomas is on the ballot.

New Orleans receivers Marques Colston, Devery Henderson and Robert Meachem are on the ballot, but Lance Moore is not. I realize New Orleans has an abundance of receivers and the NFL has to be diplomatic. But, the flip side of this is, Carolina’s Legedu Naanee is on the ballot. I’ve got a little problem with that one.

Tampa Bay fullback, Earnest Graham, who had been playing some tailback, is on the ballot. Graham’s about to go on the injured reserve list.

New Orleans defensive end Will Smith is not on the ballot. Teammates Cameron Jordan and Turk McBride are on the ballot. Have to wonder is Smith’s two-game suspension to start the season might have made the people who pick who goes on the ballots forget about him?

Then again, Tampa Bay free safety Tanard Jackson, who was suspended for the first five games, is on the ballot.