NFC South lags in Pro Bowl voting

For those who like to say the NFC South doesn’t get enough “respect’’ -- and there seems to be a lot of that from Atlanta fans this season -- here’s your chance to do something about it.

The NFL released its first early results on Pro Bowl balloting on Wednesday afternoon and Atlanta quarterback Matt Ryan and New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees are the only NFC South players among the top-10 vote getters. Ryan’s at No. 9 and Brees is No. 10. If the early voting was all that mattered, Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers would be the starter ahead of Ryan and Brees.

As a matter of fact, only two NFC South players lead the balloting at their positions. Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez is the leader among NFC tight ends. Tampa Bay’s Ronde Barber is the leader at free safety.

There are a lot of other NFC South players that deserve to be in the Pro Bowl. That’s why I urge you to go hit the polls.