NFC South will have to wait for another Hall of Famer

Posted by ESPN.com's Pat Yasinskas

The list of candidates for the latest Pro Football Hall of Fame class has been cut to 25 and it looks if we're probably going to have to wait five years for Warren Sapp (and maybe John Lynch) for the NFC South to have its next real candidate. Former Tampa Bay players Doug Williams and Hardy Nickerson were among those who didn't make Tuesday's cut.

You can look at the list below and see some ties to the NFC South. But offensive lineman Randall McDaniel doesn't really qualify as an NFC South guy because he only spent the tail-end of his career with the Buccaneers. Same for quarterback Ken Stabler, who had a cup of coffee with the Saints at the end of his career.

Not sure if I'd call Kevin Greene, who did two short stints with Carolina, an NFC South guy either. Actually, I don't think I even view Greene, a one-dimensional pass rusher, as a strong candidate to get beyond the next cut.

Here's the list of guys who made the cut to 25:

Cris Carter, WR, 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Roger Craig, RB, 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings,

Terrell Davis, RB, 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Dermontti Dawson, C, 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Richard Dent, DE, 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Chris Doleman, DE/LB, 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE, 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Russ Grimm, G, 1981-1991 Washington Redskins

Ray Guy, P, 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Charles Haley, DE/LB, 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Lester Hayes, CB, 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Cortez Kennedy, DT, 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks
Bob Kuechenberg, G, 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins

Randall McDaniel, G, 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-01 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Art Modell, Owner, 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens

John Randle, DT, 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks

Andre Reed, WR, 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Shannon Sharpe, TE, 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

Bruce Smith, DE, 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000-03 Washington Redskins

Ken Stabler, QB, 1970-79 Oakland Raiders, 1980-81 Houston Oilers, 1982-84 New Orleans Saints

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner, 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, Special Teams/WR, 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Derrick Thomas, LB, 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs

Ralph Wilson, Owner, 1960-current Buffalo Bills

Rod Woodson, CB/S, 1987-1996 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers, 1998-2001, Baltimore Ravens, 2002-03 Oakland Raiders