All-Pro team short on NFC South reps

The Associated Press 2010 All-Pro Team is out and I can’t say the NFC South is well represented.

Only three players from the division made the first team. Atlanta receiver Roddy White and New Orleans guard Jahri Evans made the offensive unit and Atlanta defensive end John Abraham is the only representative on the first-team defense.

The numbers are only slightly better on the second team. On offense, Atlanta running back Michael Turner and fullback Ovie Mughelli are joined by New Orleans guard Carl Nicks.

On defense, there is a quirk. It comes at safety and it involves two New Orleans players. There are nine safeties listed on the second team due to a tie in the voting. New Orleans’ Malcolm Jenkins and Darren Sharper are among those safeties.

Jenkins had a breakout season and belongs on this team. Sharper has had a wonderful career and might land in the Hall of Fame. But he was out with an injury for a big chunk of the 2010 season and didn’t do all that much when he did play. In this case, Sharper made the team on reputation.

In one other voting quirk, there is no quarterback for the second-team offense. That’s because New England’s Tom Brady got every vote. I think you could make a case for New Orleans’ Drew Brees, Atlanta’s Matt Ryan or Tampa Bay’s Josh Freeman for this spot.