More honors for Brees, Payton

Just heard from the Maxwell Football Club that New Orleans coach Sean Payton and quarterback Drew Brees have earned some more accolades (and hardware) for their magnificent season.

Brees has been selected as the 2009 Bert Bell Professional Football Player of the Year. Payton has been chosen as the Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year.

The awards will be presented Friday along with some other very prestigious honors. Texas quarterback Colt McCoy is the winner of the 73rd Maxwell Award as college player of the year. Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh will receive the Chuck Bednarik Award as the national college defensive player of the year. U.S. Army All-American and Florida signee Sharrif Floyd will be recognized as the high school player of the year.