Numbers on Falcons' playoff drought

It’s a well-known fact that the Falcons will be trying to end a playoff drought when they host the Seattle Seahawks on Sunday.

Everyone is talking about how the Falcons are 0-3 in the postseason since the arrival of coach Mike Smith and quarterback Matt Ryan in 2008. Let’s put that into some context.

Smith has a chance to become the fifth coach in history to lose his first four playoff games. Dennis Green, Wade Phillips and Marvin Lewis each lost their first four. Former New Orleans and Indianapolis coach Jim Mora set the record by losing his first six playoff games, according to ESPN Stats & Information.

At the moment, Ryan is one of six quarterbacks to lose his first three playoff starts since the AFL-NFL merger. But a loss would put Ryan with Y.A. Tittle as the only quarterbacks in NFL history to lose their first four playoff games.