Drew Brees is Sportsman of the Year

Mike And Mike: Sportsman Of The Year (2:31)

Drew Brees honored as Sports Illustrated's sportsman of the year (2:31)

Sports Illustrated just made a pretty major announcement involving the NFC South. New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees has been named the magazine's Sportsman of the Year for 2010.

Brees will be featured in a cover story that details how the quarterback still is helping a city on the rebound from Hurricane Katrina. Brees will be honored in New York at a ceremony this evening, where he'll be joined by previous award winners Bill Russell, Billie Jean King, Mike Eruzione, Joe Montana and Curt Schilling.

Brees is the third NFL quarterback to win the award in the past six years. Tom Brady won it in 2005 and Brett Favre won it in 2007. Prior to that, the only NFL quarterbacks to win the award were Terry Bradshaw (1979) and Montana (1990).