Hall finalists have NFC West ties

Ten of 15 newly-named finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame come with ties to current NFC West teams.

Jerry Rice, Roger Craig, Richard Dent, Charles Haley and Rickey Jackson played for the 49ers.

Don Coryell coached the Cardinals. Emmitt Smith played for them. Russ Grimm is currently a Cardinals assistant.

Cortez Kennedy and John Randle played for the Seahawks.

The Hall of Fame selection committee, of which I am a new member, meets Feb. 6 in Miami to name enshrinees. Candidates at the finalist level come with strong credentials. Deciding which ones to leave off the list becomes harder than determining which ones might be worthy.

From the Hall of Fame: "Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected. Representatives of the accounting firm Deloitte & Touche will tabulate all votes during the meeting."

Floyd Little and Dick LeBeau are the senior nominees this year.