<
>

Seattle Seahawks schedule analysis

Breakdown: The Seahawks will go without a prime-time game in consecutive seasons for the first time since the early 1980s. They had to know it would be this way after two down years.

There were some rumblings Seattle might face Arizona in an early-season prime-time game to fill the league's quota for spotlighting West Coast teams. The matchup would have pitted Seahawks coach Pete Carroll against Cardinals quarterback Matt Leinart in a USC alumni game. Carroll might be a big name, but fans pay to see players, not coaches, and it's clear the Seahawks have to improve their roster before getting a look nationally.

The NFL's new rule mandating division games in Week 17 worked out well for Seattle. The Seahawks finish at home against the Rams, the easiest possible scenario. But they open the season with the 49ers in Seattle, followed by a trip to Denver and a home game at San Diego. An 0-3 start to the season is certainly possible. Seattle also faces the Cardinals twice, plus games against the Giants (home) and Saints (road) during a tough one-month stretch beginning in late October. The Denver game should carry extra meaning for a few Seattle assistant coaches, including offensive coordinator Jeremy Bates.

Complaint department: The NFL complicated the Seahawks' holiday season by scheduling a 10 a.m. PT game on Dec. 26 at Tampa Bay. The Seahawks will probably have to fly out Dec. 24 for the cross-country trip, a day earlier than they would travel for a game later in the day. That has to rank in the "major bummer" category for those coaches, players and executives who were hoping to spend at least Christmas eve with their families. The game could also revive unpleasant memories from last season. Seattle's home defeat to the Bucs stood as the lowest moment of the season. More than any game, that one probably helped seal Jim Mora's fate as head coach.

Top of the morning: The Seahawks have only three 10 a.m. PT games overall, an improvement from recent seasons. They face the Rams, Bears and Bucs in those games.

Seahawks Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 12, San Francisco, 4:15 PM

Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 19, at Denver, 4:05 PM

Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 26, San Diego, 4:15 PM

Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 3, at St. Louis, 1:00 PM

Week 5: BYE

Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 17, at Chicago, 1:00 PM

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 24, Arizona, 4:05 PM

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 31, at Oakland, 4:15 PM

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 7, NY Giants, 4:05 PM

Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 14, at Arizona, 4:15 PM

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 21, at New Orleans, 4:05 PM

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 28, Kansas City, 4:05 PM

Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 5, Carolina, 4:15 PM

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 12, at San Francisco, 4:05 PM

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 19, Atlanta, 4:05 PM

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 26, at Tampa Bay, 1:00 PM

Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 2, St. Louis, 4:15 PM