NFC West Penalty Watch: Week 1

Two penalties for delay of game and one for intentional grounding left San Francisco 49ers quarterback Alex Smith as the most penalized NFC West player through Week 1.

Quarterbacks aren't always to blame for delay penalties, but they're ultimately responsible. The Arizona Cardinals' Derek Anderson was the only other NFC West quarterback penalized during Week 1.

Philip Rivers (22), Brett Favre (18) and Kurt Warner (15) are the NFL's most penalized quarterbacks since 2008, according to information provided by Hank Gargiulo of ESPN Stats & Information. Warner's penalties declined from 12 in 2008 to three last season.

The chart shows the three NFC West players with more than one penalty through the regular-season opener. Counts include declined penalties.

2010 NFC West Penalty Counts: Through Week 1