Bryant runs NFC West awards count to 16

2012 NFC Players of Week

The NFC West ran its conference-leading count to 16 weekly award winners Thursday.

Seattle Seahawks defensive end Red Bryant, whose blocked field goal enabled Richard Sherman's touchdown return during a 42-13 victory over San Francisco, has been named the NFC's special-teams player of the week.

Bryant blocked three field goals and an extra point last season.

Atlanta's Matt Ryan (offense) and Chicago's Julius Peppers (defense) won the other NFC awards this week. They beat out NFC West nominees Russell Wilson, Marshawn Lynch and Sherman.

Recapping NFC West honors to this point in the season:

  • Week 2: Arizona's Calais Campbell wins defensive honors.

  • Week 3: Arizona's Larry Fitzgerald wins offensive honors while Seattle's Chris Clemons wins defensive honors.

  • Week 4: San Francisco's Patrick Willis (defense) and St. Louis' Greg Zuerlein (special teams) win honors.

  • Week 5: St. Louis' Johnny Hekker wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 7: San Francisco's Andy Lee wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 8: San Francisco's Alex Smith wins offensive honors.

  • Week 10: Sherman wins defensive honors.

  • Week 11: San Francisco's Aldon Smith wins defensive honors.

  • Week 12: St. Louis' Janoris Jenkins wins defensive honors and Seattle's Leon Washington wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 13: St. Louis' Greg Zuerlein (special teams) and Seattle's Wilson (offense) win honors.

  • Week 15: San Francisco's Colin Kaepernick wins offensive honors.

  • Week 16: Bryant wins special-teams honors.

Note: The 49ers' Aldon Smith was also defensive player of the month for November.