Carroll's first draft in perspective

Mike Holmgren wouldn't claim full responsibility for the 19 current Seattle players drafted by the team when he was Seahawks' coach.

His days in charge of personnel decisions ended after the 2002 season.

Current coach Pete Carroll does have control over personnel and his inaugural draft class infused the roster with nine rookies. Carroll now has more draft choices on the roster than Jim Mora, the coach for 2009 only. He's certainly gaining on Holmgren.

And when Walter Jones retires this week, the Seahawks will sever ties with the final player drafted when Dennis Erickson was head coach from 1994 to 1998.

The 19 players drafted during Holmgren's tenure: Justin Forsett, Kelly Jennings, Marcus Trufant, Josh Wilson, Owen Schmitt, Lofa Tatupu, Will Herring, Leroy Hill, Mansfield Wrotto, Steve Vallos, Ray Willis, Sean Locklear, Red Bryant, Ben Obomanu, John Carlson, Brandon Mebane, Craig Terrill, Lawrence Jackson and restricted free agent Chris Spencer.

Holmgren was coach in Green Bay when the Packers drafted another current Seattle player (Matt Hasselbeck).

Deon Butler, Mike Teel, Aaron Curry, Max Unger, Cameron Morrah and Nick Reed remain from the Seattle draft when Mora was coach. Butler's future with the team appears clouded by recent developments at receiver. I initially thought Carroll had praised Butler when I asked about the 2009 third-round choice during the draft, but Carroll thought I had asked about Deion Branch.

Drafted Players' First Head Coaches: Seattle Seahawks