Wilson, Zuerlein add to West awards haul

Another week, another NFC honor for the West. Make that two of them.

Greg Zuerlein's 53- and 54-yard kicks for the St. Louis Rams helped beat the San Francisco 49ers and make Zuerlein the NFC's special-teams player of the week for a second time. He's got company, too, as Seattle's Russell Wilson won offensive honors for the NFC after leading 97- and 80-yard touchdown drives to beat the Chicago Bears.

That makes 13 weekly award winners in 13 weeks for players from the NFC West. That sounds great, but it's merely very good. Think of it this way: 25 percent of the NFC teams have landed 33 percent of the honors. The league announces offensive, defensive and special-teams winners each Wednesday.

Recapping NFC West honors to this point in the season:

  • Week 2: Arizona's Calais Campbell wins defensive honors.

  • Week 3: Arizona's Larry Fitzgerald wins offensive honors while Seattle's Chris Clemons wins defensive honors.

  • Week 4: San Francisco's Patrick Willis (defense) and St. Louis' Greg Zuerlein (special teams) win honors.

  • Week 5: St. Louis punter Johnny Hekker wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 7: San Francisco's Andy Lee wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 8: San Francisco's Alex Smith wins offensive honors.

  • Week 10: Richard Sherman wins defensive honors.

  • Week 11: Aldon Smith wins defensive honors.

  • Week 12: Jenkins wins defensive honors.

  • Week 13: Zuerlein (special teams) and Wilson (offense) win honors.

Note: The 49ers' Aldon Smith was also defensive player of the month for November.