No guarantees for NFL team captains

September can be an exciting, gratifying time for those NFL players deemed significant enough to earn "captain" status, usually by vote of their peers.

Enjoy it while you can, gentlemen.

Take a look at the St. Louis Rams' captains from 2008: Marc Bulger, Tory Holt, Will Witherspoon, Corey Chavous and Todd Johnson.

Gone, gone, gone, gone, gone.

The Arizona Cardinals' captains two seasons ago? Kurt Warner, Reggie Wells, Karlos Dansby, Sean Morey and Aaron Francisco. Gone, all of them.

The Seattle Seahawks (Matt Hasselbeck, Lofa Tatupu) and San Francisco 49ers (Patrick Willis, Eric Heitmann) each still employ two of their captains from 2008. But Seattle has parted with four others: Walter Jones, Deon Grant, D.D. Lewis and Lance Laury. The 49ers have waved goodbye to 2008 captains Michael Robinson (now a Seahawk) and Walt Harris.

How many of the 2010 team captains, listed below, will remain with their teams in two seasons?

Arizona Cardinals

Offense: Larry Fitzgerald, Lyle Sendlein

Defense: Adrian Wilson, Darnell Dockett

Special teams: Ben Graham, Jason Wright

St. Louis Rams

Offense: Steven Jackson

Defense: Oshiomogho Atogwe

Week 1 at-large: Chris Massey, James Hall

San Francisco 49ers

Offense: Eric Heitmann, Vernon Davis, Alex Smith

Defense: Patrick Willis, Takeo Spikes, Justin Smith

Note: Coach Mike Singletary names captains for the 49ers. He added Alex Smith to the list this year and said the quarterback had earned the distinction.

Seattle Seahawks

The Seahawks have not yet voted on captains.

Update: Matt Hasselbeck (offense), Lofa Tatupu (defense) and Roy Lewis (special teams) are 2010 captains for Seattle.