Brown again named Hall of Fame finalist

ALAMEDA, Calif. -- Former Oakland Raiders receiver Tim Brown has been named a Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist for the fifth consecutive year in making the cut from 25 semifinalists to 15 finalists (plus the two seniors committee nominees).

Brown joins punter Ray Guy, who played with the Raiders from 1973-86, as two of the 17 candidates the 46-member selection committee will discuss on Feb. 1 at its annual selection meeting. Guy is one of the two senior candidates, along with Claude Humphrey.

Former Raiders guard Steve Wisniewski, a first-time semifinalist who was with the Raiders from 1989-2001, did not make the cut, and neither did Raiders running back-for-a-season Roger Craig, who played for the Raiders in Los Angeles in 1991 and is a six-time semifinalist and a finalist in 2010.

Rules stipulate that between four and seven Hall of Famers are elected every year, with an 80 percent vote ensuring election.

Brown, a nine-time Pro Bowler who was the Raiders' first-round pick in 1988 (No. 6 overall) after winning the Heisman trophy at Notre Dame, was also an all-league kick returner. But he will find competition for Canton as fellow receivers Andre Reed and Marvin Harrison, a first-year eligible nominee, were also named finalists.

Their respective pass-catching stats: Brown (1,094 receptions, 14,934 yards, 100 TDs), Reed (951 receptions, 13,198 yards, 87 TDs) and Harrison (1,102 receptions, 14,580 yards, 128 TDs).

A year ago, Cris Carter was the lone receiver to be voted into the Hall.

The other 12 finalists are PK Morten Andersen, RB Jerome Bettis, LB Derrick Brooks, former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr., former Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy, LB/DE Kevin Greene, DE/LB Charles Haley, OT Walter Jones, S John Lynch, G Will Shields, DE Michael Strahan and CB/S Aeneas Williams.

The Raiders, meanwhile, currently recognize 21 Hall of Famers. Could Guy and/or Brown join them?