Kansas City Chiefs schedule analysis

Breakdown: Don’t expect the Kansas City Chiefs to be the NFL’s final undefeated team again this season. Their schedule is loaded throughout, particularly early in the season. After opening against the Tennessee Titans at Arrowhead Stadium on Sept. 7, the Chiefs play against three of last season’s four conference finalists over the next four weeks. The Chiefs play four of their last six games against their rivals from the AFC West. Their final three home games are against the Denver Broncos, Oakland Raiders and San Diego Chargers. That could be a useful feature of their schedule if they’re still in the playoff race by then.

Complaint department: The Chiefs have an early stretch with four of five games on the road. Included are road games against Denver, the San Francisco 49ers and San Diego Chargers and a home game against the New England Patriots. They could be buried by the time this stretch ends on Oct. 19. If they can find a way to win two of those games, including a matchup with the Dolphins in Miami, the Chiefs might be able to survive. No matter how the schedule was drawn up, the Chiefs weren’t going to have many soft spots. If such a thing exists this year, it’s a midseason stretch when they face the St. Louis Rams and New York Jets at home followed by a game against the Bills in Buffalo.

Prime-time players: The Chiefs were given three night games, one each on Thursday, Sunday and Monday. That’s no surprise given they were an 11-win team last season and have a schedule featuring several of the league’s top teams as opponents. But Arrowhead Stadium will be home to its first prime-time game in three years on Monday, Sept. 29, when they play against the Patriots. Arrowhead will also be the venue for a Sunday night game on Nov. 20 against the Broncos, though that game could eventually be flexed from that time slot. Their Thursday night game is Nov. 20 against the Raiders in Oakland.

Strength of schedule: 7th, .559 | Vegas over/under: 8.5

Chiefs Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 7, Tennessee, 1 p.m.

Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 14, at Denver, 4:25 p.m.

Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 21, at Miami, 4:25 p.m.

Week 4: Monday, Sept. 29, New England, 8:30 p.m.

Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 5, at San Francisco, 4:25 p.m.

Week 6: BYE

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 19, at San Diego, 4:05 p.m.

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 26, St. Louis, 1 p.m.

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 2, NY Jets, 1 p.m.

Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 9, at Buffalo, 1 p.m.

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 16, Seattle, 1 p.m.

Week 12: Thursday, Nov. 20, at Oakland, 8:25 p.m.

Week 13: Sunday, Nov. 30, Denver, 8:30 p.m.

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 7, at Arizona, 4:05 p.m.

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 14, Oakland, 1 p.m.

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 21, at Pittsburgh, 1 p.m.

Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 28, San Diego, 1 p.m.