Hall of Fame finalists from NFC West

Jerry Rice, Roger Craig, Aeneas Williams, Charles Haley and Cortez Kennedy are among the 25 finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame consideration in 2010.

All played primarily or significantly for current NFC West teams.

Chris Doleman, John Randle and Don Coryell are also among the finalists. Each spent smaller portions of their careers with current NFC West franchises.

Cardinals offensive line coach and running game coordinator Russ Grimm, former guard for the Redskins, is also among the finalists.

I'll be following the process more closely from this point forward, and for good reason: I recently joined the Board of Selectors. It's an honor and something I'll take seriously.

So many people have given so much to the game. Narrowing down the finalists will require excluding some excellent candidates.