NFC West teams back OT changes

All four NFC West teams voted for overtime rules changes in the playoffs.

The 28-4 margin was more convincing than what John Clayton and I anticipated during a recent Double Coverage discussion.

Arizona, Seattle and St. Louis have all played overtime playoff games in the last decade. The new rule would not have affected those games.

The Seahawks suffered a 33-27 road defeat to Green Bay on Jan. 4, 2004 in the game remembered for Matt Hasselbeck's comments during the overtime coin toss. Both teams had possession in that game before the Packers' Al Harris returned an interception for a touchdown.

The Rams suffered a 29-23 home defeat to Carolina six days later when Jake Delhomme threw a 69-yard touchdown pass to Steve Smith on the first play of the second overtime.

Seattle suffered a 27-24 road defeat to Chicago on Jan. 14, 2007 after failing to score on the first possession of overtime.

The Cardinals' 51-45 playoff victory over Green Bay following last season featured a defensive touchdown after the Packers fumbled on the opening possession of overtime.