AFC West HOF semifinalists

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced 26 semifinalists for election in 2011. The list will be pared down to 15 finalists. The vote will be held in February.

Here are the semifinalists who spent to a big portion of their careers in the AFC West:

Tim Brown, wide receiver: Raiders, 1988-2003

Don Coryell, coach: Chargers, 1978-86

Terrell Davis, running back: 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Ray Guy, punter: 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Lester Hayes, cornerback: 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Willie Roaf, tackle: Chiefs, 2002-05

Shannon Sharpe, tight end: 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Bronco

Brown, Coryell and Sharpe made big runs last year. I wouldn’t be shocked if one of the three, perhaps Sharpe, is enshrined this year. Sharpe and Brown will eventually get in at some point, and both probably should be in now. Roaf is also a real possibility.

Davis and Guy also might get in, but it could take a while. Guy has a lot of support because he was a dominant player, but still some people have been reluctant to vote for a punter. I think that is an outdated opinion. Guy changed games. He was a major contributor to the NFL and he deserves recognition.