Terrell Suggs is Defensive Player of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS -- Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs was named the Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year on Saturday night.

He becomes the third Ravens player to win the award, joining linebacker Ray Lewis and safety Ed Reed. A Ravens player has won this award four times in the past 12 seasons: Lewis in 2000 and 2003, Reed in 2004 and Suggs this season.

Suggs led the AFC with 14 sacks and was named to the Pro Bowl and first-team All-Pro team.

I will provide more on the award later.