Changing of guard with Steelers' captains

The Steelers named their captains for this season, and for the first time since 2005, it didn't include wide receiver Hines Ward or linebacker James Farrior. Ward had been a captain for the offense for the previous seven seasons, and Farrior had been one for the defense for the past eight years.

With Ward and Farrior both released in the offseason, it was time for the Steelers to select their new leaders. The players voted on quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and defensive end Brett Keisel.

This is the fourth time that Roethlisberger has been named a captain, but it's the first time he hasn't shared that title with Ward. Keisel, who is entering his 11th season, has never been selected as a captain. The team didn't name a special teams captain. Last year, the special teams captain was Arnaz Battle, who was released this offseason like Ward and Farrior.

The Browns players recently named their captains: offensive tackle Joe Thomas (offense), linebacker D'Qwell Jackson (defense) and kicker Phil Dawson (special teams). "They chose wisely," coach Pat Shurmur said.