Manning-Peterson highlights big Saturday

Saturday is an important day in the AFC West.

Major 2012 season individual awards will be given and the 2013 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be announced.

One of the key events will be the announcement of the NFL MVP award. Denver quarterback Peyton Manning and Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson are the primary candidates for the award. They are also the top candidates for the Offensive Player of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year awards.

The Manning-Peterson debate has raged on for the past few months. Manning led Denver to a 13-3 record after sitting out the 2011 season because of a neck injury that required four surgeries. Peterson finished nine yards short of setting the NFL single-season rushing record -- after tearing the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee late in the 2011 season.

Peterson has been stumping hard for the MVP award, while Manning has been quiet in his campaign. Manning has an NFL-record four MVP awards. Manning and Peterson should both go home with some hardware Saturday.

Denver linebacker Von Miller, meanwhile, is a candidate for Defensive Player of the Year. However, Houston’s J.J. Watt is considered the favorite.

Earlier Saturday, the Hall of Fame class will be announced. Four of the 17 finalists have AFC West ties: former Kansas City defensive tackle Curley Culp, former Raiders receiver Tim Brown, former Kansas City guard Will Shields and defensive tackle Warren Sapp, who ended his career in Oakland. Sapp and Culp are considered the favorites of those four to gain entry to the Hall of Fame this season.

Please check back Saturday for news and analysis on all of the developments pertaining to the AFC West.