Aeneas Williams named HOF finalist

TEMPE, Ariz. -- And then there were 15.

Former Arizona Cardinals defensive back Aeneas Williams was among the 15 modern-day finalists for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, announced Thursday night.

The class of 2014 inductees will be voted on Feb. 1, the day before Super Bowl, in New York City.

Williams has been a finalist the past two seasons.

Former Cardinals coach Don Coryell was a finalist in 2010 but was not elected. Former Cards running back Emmitt Smith, best known for his time with the Dallas Cowboys, was a finalist for the first time in 2010 and voted in that year. And former Cardinals cornerback Roger Wehrli was enshrined in 2007 after being a finalist for the first time.

Williams’ fellow modern-day finalists are K Morten Andersen, RB Jerome Bettis, LB Derrick Brooks, WR Tim Brown, owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr., coach Tony Dungy, LB/DE Kevin Greene, DE/LB Charles Haley, WR Marvin Harrison, T Walter Jones, S John Lynch, WR Andre Reed, G Will Shields and DE Michael Strahan.

The two senior nominees are P Ray Guy and DE Claude Humphrey.

Williams would be the Cardinals’ 12th Hall of Famer and the first since Wehrli was inducted in 2007.

Cardinals Hall of Famers

1963 -- Ernie Nevers, halfback

1964 -- Jimmy Conzelman, coach

1965 -- John “Paddy” Driscoll, halfback

1967 -- Charles W. Bidwill Sr., owner

1968 -- Charley Trippi, halfback

1972 -- Ollie Matson, halfback

1974 -- Dick “Night Train” Lane, defensive back

1978 -- Larry Wilson, safety

1994 -- Jackie Smith, tight end

1996 -- Dan Dierdorf, tackle

2007 -- Roger Wehrli, cornerback