AHL realignment for 2011-12

The AHL approved the following division realignment on Tuesday:

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division:

Manchester Monarchs

Portland Pirates

Providence Bruins

St. John's

Worcester Sharks

Northeast Division:

Adirondack Phantoms

Albany Devils

Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Connecticut Whale

Springfield Falcons

East Division:

Binghamton Senators

Hershey Bears

Norfolk Admirals

Syracuse Crunch

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

Western Conference

North Division:

Grand Rapids Griffins

Hamilton Bulldogs

Lake Erie Monsters

Rochester Americans

Toronto Marlies

Midwest Division:

Charlotte Checkers

Chicago Wolves

Milwaukee Admirals

Peoria Rivermen

Rockford Icehogs

West Division:

Abbotsford Heat

Houston Aeros

Oklahoma City Barons

San Antonio Rampage

Texas Stars

A new format for the 2012 Calder Cup playoffs was also announced with eight teams in each conference making the playoffs. The three division winners will get the top three seeds.

The regular season format will be announced later in the summer. The season begins on Oct. 7.