Lundqvist among first-time winners

An interesting dynamic of this year’s awards was that each player who won a trophy that was voted on (as opposed to one based on statistical outcomes) was a first-time winner.

This includes Henrik Lundqvist, who earned his first Vezina Trophy after finishing third in voting in 2006 through 2008.

“I’m so happy right now, to win. Like I said on the stage, to be on that list with a couple of my heroes, with Patrick [Roy] and Dominic [Hasek] and Marty [Brodeur] -- great careers,” said the New York Rangers netminder, who was also nominated for the Hart Trophy but lost out to Evgeni Malkin.

“So it feels good. And it's been a goal for me and a dream for a long time to try to win.”

Lundqvist’s win marked a good night for the Swedish contingent, as Erik Karlsson earned a surprise Norris Trophy, Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche won the Calder Trophy as top rookie and Ottawa captain Daniel Alfredsson won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for displaying leadership qualities on and off the ice.

“It’s an honor to just be in the group of all the great players that have won this award previously,” Landeskog said. "My good old friend Jeff Skinner, and there's a lot of them. Peter Forsberg, Alfredsson are two of the Swedish guys, and it's a pretty special feeling and tough to describe right now."

He clipped Edmonton’s Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, earning 1,383 voting points to Nugent-Hopkins’ 1,001.

Among the other first-time winners was Florida’s Brian Campbell, who became the first defenseman to win the Lady Byng Trophy since Hall of Famer Red Kelly did so in 1954.