Oilers, Flames players challenge lockout

With the help of the NHLPA, several players from the Edmonton Oilers and Calgary Flames appealed to the Alberta Labour Relations board to challenge a lockout, multiple sources told ESPN.com.

According to a document obtained by ESPN.com, there are 21 players in total listed as complainants in the filing before the Alberta Labour Relations Board: Chris Butler, Matt Stajan, Mike Cammalleri, Blake Comeau, Derek Smith, Tim Jackman, Dennis Wideman, Jarome Iginla, Sam Gagner, Nick Schultz, Shawn Horcoff, Ryan Whitney, Eric Belanger, Corey Potter, Mark Giordano, Ryan Smyth, Mikael Backlund, Miikka Kiprusoff, Devan Dubnyk, Ryan Jones and Henrik Karlsson.

A hearing with the ALBLRB is expected to take place next week.

The work stoppage will begin after the current collective bargaining agreement expires on Saturday at 11:59 p.m. ET. Following the Board of Governors meeting on Thursday, NHL commissioner Gary Bettman said he received a unanimous vote from the owners in support of a league-imposed lockout.

The union is turning to Canadian provincial law to impede a lockout elsewhere as well.

The Quebec Labour Relations Board held an emergency hearing Friday morning on behalf of a filing made by 16 players from the Montreal Canadiens. The NHLPA is not recognized as a certified union under Quebec Labour law, making a lockout by the Canadiens illegal, the union contends.

The QLRB is expected to make a decision by 11:59 p.m. ET on Saturday.