Orpik still out, Rangers tweaking PP

PITTSBURGH -- It appears that veteran defenseman Brooks Orpik will miss his third straight playoff game as the Pittsburgh Penguins look to even their Eastern Conference semifinals series against the visiting New York Rangers on Sunday night.

Orpik did not take the morning skate, although he was on the ice with some of his teammates at an optional skate Saturday at the team's suburban Pittsburgh practice facility and did skate briefly on his own before the rest of the team on Sunday. His injury is still undisclosed.

The team is 2-1 without Orpik in the lineup, including Friday's 3-2 overtime loss to the Rangers to open this second-round series.

Captain Sidney Crosby said the team needs to be desperate from the get-go and not let the situation dictate its desperation. That was the case in Game 1, when the Penguins played poorly in the first period and trailed 2-0 before coming back to tie the game in the second.

Meanwhile, Rangers head coach Alain Vigneault looks as though he's making a couple of minor adjustments to the team's anemic power play, with Anton Stralman getting chances during the morning skate with the second power-play unit in the place of John Moore. The Rangers are on an 0-for-25 streak with the man-advantage, including 0-for-4 in Game 1.

Rangers forward Chris Kreider, out with a hand injury, skated with his teammates but was still sporting a no-contact jersey for the morning skate.

How the Penguins’ forward combinations and defense pairings look to shake down for Game 2:

Chris Kunitz-Sidney Crosby-Lee Stempniak

Jussi Jokinen-Evgeni Malkin-James Neal

Beau Bennett-Brandon Sutter-Joe Vitale

Tanner Glass-Marcel Goc-Craig Adams

Paul Martin-Kris Letang

Olli Maatta-Matt Niskanen

Rob Scuderi-Robert Bortuzzo

Marc-Andre Fleury

And for the Rangers:

Rick Nash-Derek Stepan-Martin St. Louis

Benoit Pouliot-Derick Brassard-Mats Zuccarello

Carl Hagelin-Brad Richards-Dan Carcillo

Brian Boyle-Dominic Moore-Derek Dorsett

Ryan McDonagh-Daniel Girardi

Marc Staal-Anton Stralman

John Moore-Kevin Klein

Henrik Lundqvist